Week 38 – 34. Passageways

Here’s another New York City inspired presentation.  I’m getting my moneys worth out of our visit to New York for Barbs 50th class reunion.

As we drove the streets of New York City it occurred to me that the streets of New York are like “Passageways” through the canyons created by the tall skyscrapers and high-rises.

GC1_4944

GC1_4942

GC1_5004

 

Week 37 – 51. Way Down Low

Back in early April as I was wandering around my yard and attending my butterfly garden, I happened to look “Way Down Low” and low and behold there was a new Monarch butterfly on a Scarlet Milkweed plant stretching and drying his wings.  In order for me to capture this phenomenon, I had to get “Way Down Low” on my robust belly to get the proper perspective and point of view as I took this picture.

GC2_8958

Week 36 – 52. What’s Cooking

At my wife Barbs’ 50th class reunion in Oceanside, New York the crowning activity of the weekend was the Saturday night dinner and dance.  The buffet lines were set up but the covers were on and the cutting board was empty leaving everyone with the question:  “What’s Cooking?” 

GC1_4818 crop 1

GC1_4824 edit 1

Later in the evening the covers were removed to reveal veggies, potatoes, baked salmon and chicken parmigiano, and a roast was brought out to the cutting board.

GC1_4859

And that’s “What’s Cooking!” 

 

Week 35 – 25. Juxtaposition

Jux • ta • po • si • tion.  The fact of two things being seen or placed close together with contrasting effect.

I’m getting double use of these two pictures, having used them in another theme.  Had it not been for a comment made by a friend, I probably never would have connected these two New York City scenes with this theme.  Thanks Vince for the idea.  And now my definition of “Juxtaposition”. 

GC1_4933 edit 1

GC1_5021 edit 1

In both of these photos the contrast of the old and the new is evident.