Week 32, Theme 45 – Statutes/Statues

This theme has been nagging me for 42 weeks.  As you can see I’m about 10 weeks behind, but I’ve got subjects identified.  I just need to get out there and get the pictures.  Anyway, enough rambling.  I’ve looked everywhere to try to come up with a combined theme, i.e. a statue in front of a law library or courthouse.  Unfortunately there haven’t been any statues where I have looked.  This week we’re down in Key West and I found several statues.  Here’s my response to “Statutes/Statues“. 

This first image is at Mallory Square, the location of the World Renowned “Sunset Celebration”.  I wasn’t fortunate to find any info on these various statues, but I’m sure you can get the idea.  I’m assuming this gentleman is a “sponger” going back to the sponge industry of years ago.

GC1_6751 edit 1

This next statue was also at the waterfront and can be found in front of the Art and Historical Society Old Custom House Museum.  Once again I was unable to find a description of this statue.  It kind of reminds me of the “Unconditional Surrender” statue currently displayed in Sarasota.

GC1_6753 edit 1

I’m sure this final statue will be recognized by many as it refers to the Pirate history of Key West and the Florida Keys.  Others may also connect it to the carefree, party lifestyle representative of this area.  I found this statue at the entrance to “Mr. Cheapee’s Liquor and Stuff” on Caroline Street near where we parked for the day (under a big ol’ shady oak tree).

GC1_6721 edit 1

There you have it folks; my response to “Statutes/Statues”  with some of the “Statues of Key West”.

4 thoughts on “Week 32, Theme 45 – Statutes/Statues

Leave a Reply

