Week 33 – A4. My Hometown

This is another theme that I have been planning on since last August when we kicked off the 52 week challenge.  I knew that we would be going up to New York for Barb’s 50th high school reunion and that there would be time to get a few snaps in “My Hometown”.  So – with no further ado, here we go:

DSCN2228 edit 1

Population 37,500 in the 2010 census.

DSCN2219

My dad bought this house in the mid 1940’s and I grew up here.  Since he sold the house in 1974, the new owners have put on at least 3 additions.

DSCN2225

My elementary school.  My mom and I both attended school here, she in the 1920’s and I attended in the late 40’s and early 50’s.  We even had a couple of the same teachers.

DSCN2224

My church.  When Barb and I were married here in 1968, there were about 500 members.  Now the membership has shrunk to about 40.  How sad.

DSCN2230

Sal & Vin’s Barber Shop.  Note that it was established in 1952.  This business hasn’t changed in appearance in 62 years.  Still looks like it did back in the day when I got my hair cut there.

And there you have it.  I hope you enjoyed “My Hometown” in pictures.  This visit sure brought back a lot to reminisce about.

 

2 thoughts on “Week 33 – A4. My Hometown

Leave a Reply

